Tuition and Fees

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2015-2016 Academic Year

All tuition and fees are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Tuition and Fees Per Semester*
Fall 2015
See below; subject to additional fees.

TEXAS RESIDENT

NONRESIDENT

Semester Hours

Amount

Semester Hours

Amount

1

$ 730.50

1

$1120.50

2

1090.00

2

1870.00

3

1449.50

3

2619.50

4

1809.00

4

3369.00

5

2168.50

5

4118.50

6

2528.00

6

4868.00

7

2887.50

7

5617.50

8

3247.00

8

6367.00

9

3606.50

9

7116.50

10

3966.00

10

7866.00

11

4325.50

11

8615.50

12

4685.00

12

9365.00

13

5044.50

13

10114.50

14

5404.00

14

10864.00

15

5763.50

15

11613.50

16

6117.00

16

12357.00

17

6460.50

17

13090.50

18

6804.00

18

13824.00

19

7147.50

19

14557.50

20

7491.00

20

15291.00

21

7834.50

21

16024.50

22

8178.00

22

16758.00

23

8521.50

23

17491.50

24

8865.00

24

18225.00

Tuition and Fees Per Semester*
Spring 2016
See below; subject to additional fees.

TEXAS RESIDENT

NONRESIDENT

Semester Hours

Amount

Semester Hours

Amount

1

$ 730.50

1

$1120.50

2

1090.00

2

1870.00

3

1449.50

3

2619.50

4

1809.00

4

3369.00

5

2168.50

5

4118.50

6

2528.00

6

4868.00

7

2887.50

7

5617.50

8

3247.00

8

6367.00

9

3606.50

9

7116.50

10

3966.00

10

7866.00

11

4325.50

11

8615.50

12

4685.00

12

9365.00

13

5044.50

13

10114.50

14

5404.00

14

10864.00

15

5763.50

15

11613.50

16

6117.00

16

12357.00

17

6460.50

17

13090.50

18

6804.00

18

13824.00

19

7147.50

19

14557.50

20

7491.00

20

15291.00

21

7834.50

21

16024.50

22

8178.00

22

16758.00

23

8521.50

23

17491.50

24

8865.00

24

18225.00

Tuition and Fees Per Summer Session*
Summer 2016
See below; subject to additional fees.

TEXAS RESIDENT

NONRESIDENT

Semester Hours

Amount

Semester Hours

Amount

1

$713.50

1

$1067.50

2

1056.00

2

1764.00

3

1398.50

3

2460.50

4

1741.00

4

3157.00

5

2083.50

5

3853.50

6

2426.00

6

4550.00

7

2768.50

7

5246.00

8

3111.00

8

5943.00

9

3453.50

9

6639.50

10

3796.00

10

7336.00

11

4138.50

11

8032.50

12

4481.00

12

8729.00

*Included in the amounts above are Tuition, Graduate Tuition, Designated Tuition, Graduate Designated Tuition Differential, Student Service Fee, Student Center Fee, Technology Fee, Library Fee, Recreational Sports Fee, International Education Fee, Advisement Center Fee, Medical Fee, OneCard Service Fee, Records Fee, and Intercollegiate Athletic Fee

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog. Additional information is available at www.shsu.edu/schedule.

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2016-2017 Academic Year

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of printing but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Tuition and Fees Per Semester*
Fall 2016 - Spring 2017
See below; subject to additional fees.

TEXAS RESIDENT

NONRESIDENT

Semester Hours

Amount

Semester Hours

Amount

1

$ 730.50

1

$1120.50

2

1090.00

2

1870.00

3

1449.50

3

2619.50

4

1809.00

4

3369.00

5

2168.50

5

4118.50

6

2528.00

6

4868.00

7

2887.50

7

5617.50

8

3247.00

8

6367.00

9

3606.50

9

7116.50

10

3966.00

10

7866.00

11

4325.50

11

8615.50

12

4685.00

12

9365.00

13

5044.50

13

10114.50

14

5404.00

14

10864.00

15

5763.50

15

11613.50

16

6117.00

16

12357.00

17

6460.50

17

13090.50

18

6804.00

18

13824.00

19

7147.50

19

14557.50

20

7491.00

20

15291.00

21

7834.50

21

16024.50

22

8178.00

22

16758.00

23

8521.50

23

17491.50

24

8865.00

24

18225.00

Tuition and Fees Per Summer Session*
Summer 2017
See below; subject to additional fees.

TEXAS RESIDENT

NONRESIDENT

Semester Hours

Amount

Semester Hours

Amount

1

$713.50

1

$1067.50

2

1056.00

2

1764.00

3

1398.50

3

2460.50

4

1741.00

4

3157.00

5

2083.50

5

3853.50

6

2426.00

6

4550.00

7

2768.50

7

5246.00

8

3111.00

8

5943.00

9

3453.50

9

6639.50

10

3796.00

10

7336.00

11

4138.50

11

8032.50

12

4481.00

12

8729.00

 

*Included in the amounts above are Tuition, Graduate Tuition, Designated Tuition, Graduate Designated Tuition Differential, Student Service Fee, Student Center Fee, Technology Fee, Library Fee, Recreational Sports Fee, International Education Fee, Advisement Center Fee, Medical Fee, OneCard Service Fee, Records Fee, and Intercollegiate Athletic Fee.

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog. Additional information is available at www.shsu.edu/schedule.

 

Explanation of Fees

The following information is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change. Tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by action of the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. The following tuition, fees, and charges information should be used only as a guideline for estimating costs. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of tuition, fees, charges, and deposits, contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.

Statutory Tuition: Resident students pay $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2015-16 and $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2016-17. Nonresident students (out-of-state and international) pay $440 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2015-16 and $440 per semester credit hour during academic year 2016-17. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board calculates each year the nonresident tuition. Students enrolled in the same course for the third or more time will be charged a rate up to the non-resident tuition rate for the hours associated with the course even if the student normally qualifies for in-state tuition. Resident students who reach the “excessive hour limit” will be charged a set rate per hour (see Tuition for Excessive Undergraduate Hours within this chapter for further details).

Designated Tuition is charged at the rate of $165.50 per semester credit hour during academic year 2015-16. Designated tuition is charged at the rate of $165.50 per semester credit hour during academic year 2016-17. In addition, graduate designated tuition differential will be charged at the rate of $20 per credit hour for academic years 2015-16 and 2016-17.

Graduate Tuition Increment: Graduate tuition is charged at the rate of $50.00 per semester credit hour for academic year 2015-16 and 2016-17.

Student Service Fee: The student service fee per semester credit hour is $16 for for academic year 2015-16 and 2016-17 ($8 per summer semester) (not exceeding $250 per semester and $125 per summer session). The fee supports the Intramural Program, the Student Life Support Programs, and the Extramural Programs. The fee provides admission to athletic events at Sam Houston State under the auspices of the Department of Athletics.

Student Center Fee: The student center fee is required at the rate of $100 per semester ($100 per summer session) for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17 and is used to fund the Lowman Student Center programs and activities.

Technology Fee (Formerly Computer Use Fee): This fee is charged at a rate of $30 per semester credit hour for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. It is used for the training of students, faculty and staff, and for providing support services for operation, maintenance, and replacement of computer hardware and software.

Recreational Sports Fee: Legislative action authorizes a recreational sports fee not to exceed $100 per semester for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. It may be used to purchase equipment for and/or construct, operate, maintain recreational sports facilities and programs.

International Education Fee: This fee is charged at the rate of $2 per semester for academic years 2015-16 and 2016-17. The International Education Fee is used only to assist students participating in international student exchange or study programs.

Library Fee - Graduate: Board action authorizes a graduate library fee of $10 per semester credit hour for academic years 2015-16 and 2016-17. The library fee directly benefits students by supporting their classroom and research needs. The Newton Gresham Library uses this fund to purchase books, add electronic databases, and new journal subscriptions.

Medical Fee: A fee of $75 per semester is charged for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. This fee covers services at the University Health Center.

Advising Fee: A fee of $66 per semester is charged for academic year 2015-16 and 2016-17. This fee will be charged to fund advising, mentoring, and academic support services for students.

Records Fee: The records fee is $12 per semester for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. The fee entitles each student to five official transcripts per semester as long as the student is currently enrolled and five official transcripts over the course of a year after receiving a confirmed degree from SHSU.

OneCard Service Fee: The OneCard Service Fee is $16 per semester for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. The OneCard fee funds the existing university ID and disbursement program and the Student Financial Center.

Intercollegiate Athletic Fee: A fee of $18 per semester credit hour ($9 per summer semester credit hour) is charged for academic year 2015-16 and academic year 2016-17. This fee will be used to support Intercollegiate Athletic programs.

Other Fees:

Audit Fee: A $50 fee per course that is audited. 

Distance Learning Fee: A fee of $101 per credit hour is charged in addition to tuition and mandatory fees when a course is designated as an electronically delivered (internet) distance learning course.  The Student Center,Medical, and Recreational Sports Fees are waived if a student is solely enrolled in distance learning courses and is charged the distance learning fee of $101 for each credit hour taken.

Lab Fee: Lab fees are charged at the rate of $8 each course with a lab component.

Music Fee: Music fees are charged for music courses that require individual instruction. (charged per course)
1 semester credit hour course . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         . . . $30
2 semester credit hours course . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    . . . . . $60
3 semester credit hours course . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    . . . . . $75
4 semester credit hours course . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    . . . . . $75

International Study Fee: A fee of $50 per semester charged to international students for services provided through the Office of International Programs.

"Three Peat" Tuition: In order to provide for loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be charged a statutory tuition rate up to the non-resident rate. The rate is currently $168 per semester credit hour.

Payment Plan Enrollment Fee: a non-refundable fee of $30 is assessed to students who enroll or opt-in for enrollment into an installment payment plan.

Late Installment Payment Penalty: A $25 late fee is charged for each installment payment received after the installment due date.

The Woodlands Center Fee (passed through the Board as the University Center Fee): A fee of $50 / SCH for courses taught at the Woodlands Center.

University Park Fee (passed through the Board as the Lone Star Center Fee): A fee of $50 / SCH for courses taught at University Park.

(MITC) Multi-institution teaching center fee: A fee of $50 / SCH for courses taught at a MITC.

Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes

The Texas Legislature and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board establish the rules and regulations for determining residence classification. Texas residency for tuition purposes is generally obtained by residing and/or being gainfully employed in Texas for 12 consecutive months immediately prior to enrollment in any college or university, by being a dependent of a Texas resident (an individual who is claimed as a dependent for federal income tax purposes by the individual’s parent or legal guardian at the time of registration and for the tax year preceding the year in which the individual registers), or by being classified as a Texas Resident for the first five of the six years immediately preceding registration (not living out of the state more than 12 months immediately prior to registration).
               
A nonresident student may qualify to pay in-state tuition by meeting the requirements of a tuition waiver. Current tuition waiver options include but are not limited to 1) the student or his/her spouse or parent is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and their home of record is Texas; 2) the student or his/her spouse or parent is employed at least half-time by an institution of higher education in Texas as a teacher or professor; 3) the student or his/her spouse or parent has a teaching or research assistantship at any Texas institution of higher education on at least a half-time basis; 4) the student holds a competitive scholarship awarded by the University of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer; or 5) the student or student’s family has been transferred to Texas by a company in keeping with the state’s Economic Development and Diversification Program.

By state law, the student has the responsibility of registering under the proper residence classification. If a student has knowledge of an error in his/her residence classification for tuition purposes, it is the student’s responsibility to notify the Graduate Residence Classification Officer immediately. For more information concerning the rules and regulations for determining Texas residence classification, please contact the Graduate Residence Classification Officer, Sam Houston State University, Box 2478, Huntsville, Texas 77341-2478, or call (936) 294-3704 or (936) 294-1971.

Payment Information

Financial Responsibility

Students are expected to meet financial obligations to the University within the designated time allowed. Registration fees are payable at registration, except for that portion of the registration fee that may be temporarily deferred, but payable later in scheduled payments as part of an installment payment agreement. Students are not entitled to enter classes or laboratories until their appropriate fees and deposits have been paid. Other charges are due at registration or within ten days after a bill is rendered by the University, or according to special payment instructions that may be listed on the bill or agreement.

Payments

Payments made for registration purposes may be made by cash, cashier’s check, personal check, money order, or pin debit in the Bursar’s Office. All checks and money orders are accepted subject to final payment. Online payments may be made by E-Check, debit, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, JCB, China Union, Diner’s Club, or Discover.

Installment Payment Plan 

The Texas Legislature has authorized collection of tuition and fees during a fall or spring semester by one of two methods: payment in full in advance of the beginning of the semester or payment in installments under a payment plan option that requires the first payment to be made in advance of the beginning of the semester. A nonrefundable fee of $30 is charged for enrolling in an installment payment plan. Failure to make a timely payment for the first installment may result in loss of class schedule (first installment payment due before beginning of term). Failure to make timely payment on any remaining installment will cause accrual of late charges

Any financial aid, tuition waivers, grants or deferments will be used to reduce the amount owed by the student, with the remaining balance eligible for the installment payment plan. During a summer session, the tuition and fees are collectible in full. The Texas Legislature has reserved the right to discontinue the installment payment plan.

Students will not be allowed to attend classes until their tuition and fees, excluding that portion of the registration fee that may be temporarily deferred, but payable later in scheduled payments as part of an installment payment agreement, are paid.

STATUTORY WARNING: A STUDENT WHO FAILS TO MAKE FULL PAYMENT OF TUITION AND FEES, INCLUDING ANY INCIDENTAL FEES, BY THE DUE DATE MAY BE PROHIBITED FROM REGISTERING FOR CLASSES UNTIL FULL PAYMENT IS MADE. A STUDENT WHO FAILS TO MAKE PAYMENT PRIOR TO THE END OF THE SEMESTER MAY BE DENIED CREDIT FOR WORK DONE THAT SEMESTER

Nonpayment of Tuition and Fees

Failure to pay the amount owed in full, including appropriate penalty and late fee charges, prior to registration for a future semester or prior to the last class day for the current semester or summer session can result in any or all of the following sanctions: 1) withholding of future registration privileges; 2) withholding award of degree; 3) withholding of an official transcript; and 4) loss of class schedule for future enrolled semester.
Students who pay fees with a returned item may suffer the above sanctions as well as those detailed in the following section.

Collections for Nonpayment

Nonpayment by the end of the semester may result in transfer of the student’s account to a contracted collection agency and assessment of a collection fee of at least 30 percent of the outstanding balance. The University may also choose to litigate an account on advice of University legal counsel. Should an account be litigated, the student will be responsible for all litigation expenses including attorney’s fees and court costs. Accounts that are referred to a contracted collection agency may also be reported to credit bureaus

Returned Payment Policy

A returned payment is defined as an item returned to the University rightfully unpaid due to no fault of the bank or the University. 

  •  The University accepts payment by personal check, which includes E-Check (ACH) payments online, and reserves the right to withdraw that privilege at any time to anyone.
  • The person receiving the benefit from the returned check or ACH is responsible for repayment if the check or ACH is returned to the University unpaid.
  • A twenty-five dollar returned item charge and the amount of the returned item will be posted to the account of the person responsible for the check or ACH.
  • Students, who fail to clear their account of returned checks or ACH payments within ten days, MAY BE resigned from school and will have to pay a fifty dollar reinstatement fee, the returned item ,and returned item charge.
  • It should not be assumed the University will resign the student. A student who discontinues going to class without officially resigning from the University will be subject to the grade of “F” in each course.
  • Students who have been resigned are eligible for reinstatement upon repayment of the fifty dollar reinstatement fee, the returned item, and the returned item charge.
  • Stop payments are considered returned items and are subject to all penalties.

  • A student who fails to make payment prior to the first day of final exams may not receive credit for the work done that semester and will not be allowed to register for future semesters until the delinquent amount is paid. In addition, unpaid returned items may be turned over to other agencies for prosecution and collection.

  • Any questions concerning this matter may be addressed to the Bursar's Office at (936) 294-1087. 

Refund Information

Tuition and Fees Refund Policy

A student enrolled at Sam Houston State University may receive a refund of tuition and fees as a result of dropping courses or resigning from the University as indicated in the following schedules.
Refunds and credits from one department will be applied to any other outstanding balances in other departments. Any remaining refund will be sent to HigherOne and credited to the Bearkat OneCard or other selected refund preference. The University may refund tuition and fees paid by a sponsor, donor or scholarship to the source rather than directly to the student who has withdrawn if the funds were made available to the University.
Refund policies were established by Senate Bill No. 604 of the 65th Legislature and adopted by the Board of Regents, Texas State University System, in August of 1977 and by the applicable federal regulations dealing with first semester financial aid students.

Dropping Courses

A student who submits a request to drop one or more courses in any given semester or summer session but remains enrolled in at least one course may be eligible for refunds. The refund schedule for dropping courses follows.

Fall and Spring Semesters
First 12 class days
100%
After 12th class day
None

 

Summer Sessions
First 4 class days
100%
After 4th class day
None

NOTE: Class days are university class days, not the number of days an individual class meets. Class days are to be counted from the first class meeting of on-campus daytime courses as indicated in the Academic Calendar.

Resignations/Withdrawals

A student who officially withdraws from all courses at Sam Houston State University in a given semester or summer session may be eligible for a refund of tuition and the specified fees, based upon the courses in which the student is enrolled on the official date of withdrawal. Refunds are made in accordance with the following schedules.

State Statutory Refund Schedule of Tuition and Fees

 

Fall and Spring Semesters Refund Schedule
Before the 1st class day
100% (Less $15 Matriculation Fee)
1st class day through 5th class day
80%
6th class day through 10th class day
70%
11th class day through 15th class day
50%
16th class day through 20th class day
25%
Thereafter
No refund

 

Summer Sessions Refund Schedule
Before the 1st class day
100% (Less $15 Matriculation Fee)
1st class day through 3rd class day
80%
4th class day through 6th class day
50%
Thereafter
No refund

 

NOTE: Class days are University class days, not the number of days an individual class meets. Class days are to be counted from the first class meeting of on-campus daytime courses as indicated in the Academic Calendar.

The previous schedule assumes that all fees have been paid in full. A different schedule applies to the installment payment plan participants, the primary difference in the schedule being the requirement for the University to compute the refund based on the assumption that the full amount of tuition and fees has been collected. Therefore, it is possible and probable, that a student in the installment plan could owe more in tuition and fees than already collected by the University. These extra amounts, if any, would be due and payable before the student would be allowed to resign from the University.

Students who receive Title IV aid and resign on or before completing 60% of the semester will be required to repay the percentage of unearned financial aid according to the federal “Return to Title IV Aid” formula derived from the 1998 Reauthorization of the Higher Education Act.

Repayments are to be returned to lenders and/or program accounts in the following statutorily specified order provided the student has received funds through the program:
    1.   Unsubsidized Federal Stafford Loan
    2.   Subsidized Federal Stafford Loan
    3.   Federal Perkins Loans
    4.   Federal PLUS Loans
    5.   Other federal, state, private or institutional sources of aid
    6.   The student

More details regarding the “Return to Title IV Aid” policy may be obtained through the Financial Aid website or from the Financial Aid Office.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor